Select your favorite from this list and make your son’s birthday the most memorable ever.

Why Write A Birthday Poem For Your Son

Often, parents might not openly express their feelings for their son. Writing a poem on his birthday can be the perfect outlet for expressing those intense and dormant feelings. This strengthens the relationship further. Your son might roll his eyes or even feel shy while reading the poem, but he will appreciate the thought and feel the depth behind the words. The next section outlines 11 amazing poems you can use to celebrate your son’s birthday with extra love and care.

11 Amazing Birthday Poems For Your Son On His Special Day

1. “For A Growing Son” By Anonymous

Another year of joyYou’re growing up, they seeBut to me, my special boy,You’ll always be my baby! Ideal For: Whether he is leaving for college or entering high school – if your son is still in the growing stages of his life, this poem is perfect. The idea is to instill confidence and let him know that you are there, constantly cheering him on.

2. “My Son, My Dream, Our Joy” By Nsikak Andrew

You are a gift anyone would dream of,So innocence with pride of royalty;A smile you have that comforts me,You are, in all, a creation I admire.All days I prayed for this special gift of you,You my dear son who reawakened my hope;A look into your eyes feels my thoughts,With this pride, only fatherhood could bear.Every day to me is your birthday,For each of the moment I held you;I feel the joy that knew no bound,That special love known only to my heart.You came when we needed a miracle,And completely changed that which is our life;We love you like we have never loved before,You are a special gift we will always cherish.A treasure you are, a pride to us you would ever be,Our joyful joy, the gift far beyond our imagination;It was with joy you came and our heart you gladden,To God we would ever be grateful for the gift of you.Just like yesterday when we heard your first cry,That which brought so much joy into our home;You are special to us, son of our youthful strength,We love you in a way words would never explain.Today and always, we say happy birthday,May you always feel the warmth of happiness;And may you live to fulfill your life’s journey,Happy birthday my son, the joy of our strength. Ideal For: This poem is perfect for parents with a single son. It clearly communicates how special their son is, thanks to its inspirational undertones.

3. “My Son” By Muriel V. Stephens

As you slept I took your handAnd thought of all the timesI held you as a babyAnd read you nursery rhymes.Expressions of a lifetimeUnfolded as I prayed.Your little face, how it has changedBut how your smile has stayed.I love you, sonJust as the time I cradled you so tightThat very day I told you thenI whisper now, tonightMy little boyHow time has flownAnd now, almost a manI’ll kiss your little fingers…And hold you while I can. Ideal For: This poem highlights a parent’s journey and communicates how special he is, even today, now that he is a man. This poem is perfect if your son stays miles away.

4. “Untitled” By Margmax

Today on your birthday I get the chance to sayHappy birthday my son and I love you by the wayI hope that your day is one of great joybecause that’s how I feel about my boy. Ideal For: This poem is short and sweet, and goes perfectly with a gift that your son wants or holds dear to his heart.

5. “Untitled” By Margmax

Happy Birthday my son have a wonderful day Doing the things that make it turn out that wayAs another year on the calendar chalks up your ageand in your year book I turn another page. Ideal For: This short but sweet poem has positive undertones and can effectively tug at your son’s heartstrings.

6. “Where Have The Years Gone?” By Janyce Cotterill

Where have the years gone my special boy,Those halcyon days when you were small,Those running days and digging days,The exploring and the wonder days,The giggle days, the playing days,Those cuddle and the loving days,One blink, and they are gone days,But my heart still take me back some days –To when you were very small. Ideal For: This rhythmic poem talks about the fun-filled journey of a little boy. It’s ideal for sons who love reminiscing the old times and are sensitive by nature.

7. “Son” By Carol Saunders

My Son, you mean the world to meNo matter what you doSo proud of you I will always bethat’s what I want you to know.Though life’s journey may be hardI will be there for youI hope success will follow youin everything you do.Today is a very special dayand so I want to sayEnjoy – have fun, and celebratewith lots of laughter all the way.Happy Birthday, Son. Ideal For: This poem is perfect for expressing the unconditional love mothers have for their sons. The words are simple yet powerful to make any son emotional!

8. “Happy Birthday Dear Son” By Cindy Thompson

You’re the best a parent could ask forWith all the love that you bringAnd you know it’s returned to youBecause love is a two way thingSo may happiness be with you alwaysAnd may all your dreams come trueBecause you’re a Son in a millionAnd we think the world of youHappy Birthday Dear Son. Ideal For: It is direct, sweet, and short. Pair this poem with old childhood pictures of your son to make him nostalgic.

9. “Computer Mad” By Mary Wilkinson

You were always into computerswith parts scattered here and there,I wondered why you took them apartbut decided not to worry or care,But just like Humpty Dumpty’ taking apart ‘would mean putting together again,And you soon found your confidenceto make things better and better yet again,You’re experienced in so many areasand you know so very much,And everything you take apartis repaired with your experienced touch,Although you’re a family man nowYou still make time for all,And after I gave you a health scareYou never fail each day to call,You’ve had your share of burdensAnd we’re proud that we can seeHow you sort things out and make it workwithin your family,It gives us so much pleasureTo wish you ‘all the best’And tell you how much we love youAs our Son, you are the best. Ideal For: This poem is for parents who have a shy son, always hiding behind the computer or books. It touches a sensitive topic but communicates how special he truly is.

10. “Son…Happy 18th!!!” By Giselle Topper

When you came into our lives you made it all complete,you rounded out our family – being a boy was just a treat.You grew and flourished very quickly – can’t believe you’re a young man,now it seems many moons ago… when it all began.From the happy little baby and toddler that used to laugh and drool,no sooner were you on the footy field, as you were at school.It wasn’t until later on, that you thought motorbikes were cool,Tearing ’round with your cousins – thinking dust and tracks – RULE!!!.Now it’s a lovely girl that shares your heart, with all of us too,may you be very happy in all the things you anticipate to do.You’re a caring, sensitive and well rounded guy,who has lovely manners and is just a tad shy.We wish you every happiness and a life amazing too.Happy 18th Birthday …..(name). Ideal For: This poem is perfect if your son is turning 18 – a big milestone in his life.

11. “Our Wish” By Hilda Mullinger

We wish dear SonWe were all togetherTo celebrate your special dayWe look forwardTo when we see you againAs we long to hear you say‘I’ll be home soon Mum and Dad’ HAPPY BIRTHDAY SON Ideal For: This poem is perfect if you cannot spend your son’s special day together. It is heartfelt, touching, and will leave him feeling loved. What can I write to my son on his birthday? You can express feelings of love, pride, happiness, gratitude, and care for your son on his birthday. The idea is to make him feel special and cherished on his birthday through heartfelt words. How can I say thank you to my son on his birthday? You can thank your son in numerous ways – via a poem, a handwritten letter talking about his qualities, making a scrapbook with childhood pictures, and so on.